New Teen Driving Laws for New York
In an effort to restrict the risks youthful drivers are exposed to in their first years of driving, the State of New York has instituted new laws that impose stricter limits on youthful drivers. The new laws, which took impact on February 22, 2010, strengthen New York’s Graduated Driving Law (GDL) for drivers younger than 21.
Motor Vehicle crashes are the main enemy of youngsters between the ages of 15 to 20 and the highest passing rate is among 16 and 17 year old drivers. In an endeavor to eliminate this demise rate, forty nine states and the District of Columbia have passed Graduated Driving Laws designed to increase the driver education necessity, limit the hours that teens can drive, and eliminate dangerous distractions. These laws have shown a checked impact on the high schooler passing rates in the states where they have been established.
The new GDL laws passed by New York:
- Eliminate the Limited Use Junior Driver Permit – The Limited Junior License permitted drivers who took and passed their street test within six months of receiving their student is grant to drive unaccompanied with certain restrictions based on the region of the state in which they lived. This license has been eliminated and the law currently requires all drivers younger than 18 to hold a student is grant for at any rate six months before they are qualified to take the street test and get a Junior License.
- Increase the quantity of supervised driving hours before scheduling a street test – Prior to authorization of the new laws, the parents or legitimate guardians of teens needed to guarantee that the teenager had gotten in any event 2o hours of supervised driving experience in request to take the street test New York drivers permit. The new law requires that parents or legitimate guardians of teens younger than 18 affirm that their youngster has gotten a minimum of 50 hour of driving experience with at any rate 15 of those hours occurring after sunset.
- Reduce the quantity of non-family passengers from two to one – Under the old law; teens were restricted to carrying two non-family passengers. The new law cuts the quantity of non-relative passengers to one for all drivers younger than 21.
Another New York law that took impact in November 2009, made it illicit to message or to use any versatile electronic gadget while the vehicle is in motion. This law applies to drivers of all ages in the State of New York.